New type of triggers for A2E conversions

Building your own? Need help with your designs? You've come to the right place.
tompasserin

New type of triggers for A2E conversions

Post by tompasserin »

Hello everyone, Tom from France here :-)

I just ordered an eDrum-in 10 for the purpose of improving my new business. I'm an experienced aerospace engineer, but drumming was first. Aerospace isn't well right now, and won't get any better soon, so I designed and developed my own trigger system. It was initially for my own use but after being advised by friends I'm now launching a small business out of this.

For the moment my products are only available in Europe, but if there's an interest from people anywhere else and in the US in particular I guess I could find a way to ship there :-)

As we're in a DIY forum, I will explain my design. I began with old Roland RT10 triggers more than 10 years ago, and at the time they were great. Then I started playing around with newer Roland V-Drums sets, and better triggering systems, and my RT10s suddenly became junk.
As a drummer I quite liked the center-piezo systems available on the market, mostly cross-bar, for their homogeneous sensing, but as an engineer there were a few issues to me:
- heavy, complex and expensive
- rigid structure needing the use of a dense memory foam cones, the same type as those which wore out pretty quick on my RT10s.

To solve this, I designed a semi-elastic structure, 3D-printed in PLA+carbon fiber, which printing profile and walls thickness depending on the drum size ensure that the sensor is always in contact with the head but that it can withstand shocks and fatigue. Besides that, because it's slightly elastic, I could use very light and highly resilient foams that I expect to last forever.